Accessorizing Your Book

Well, I’ve been trying to think of a good way to start this blog. I’m not exactly a paragon of writing, literature isn’t my strongest point, and, quite frankly, my confidence isn’t so great. I figured I’d start with a real life story of something that happened to me.

So I was working in retail at a Follett for a short time. For those of you who don’t know them, they are a book store specializing in textbooks for college students, and the other miscellaneous, over priced things that they feel college students will want to buy. Now our store was unique. It was set up, by contract, to operate as a regular book store, and not for textbooks. You can imagine the confusion that caused.

Anyway, one day we had a girl come in. She strode right up to the register/counter and asked if we had any bookmarks. Now, this store had only been open for maybe two weeks. We were still getting in shipments of things due to some delivery mix-ups that I don’t want to get into, but we hadn’t received any bookmarks. We had those advertising, giveaway ones that most bookstores had, printed on cheap paper. It was something.

This girl was furious. “What do you mean you don’t have any bookmarks?” She said a few other things, but I couldn’t help but laugh a little in my head. She was right. We were a book store. We needed bookmarks. We offered her the cheap freebies, but that was no good. It was what she said next that startled me. “I need a bookmark that goes with my book.” She proceeded to rant for a few more moments about how she was disappointed with us, and then promptly left.

I didn’t even know you could accessorize a book. The entire concept was ridiculous to me. Then it hit me. She’d been in the week before. She was the one complaining that we didn’t have Snooki’s book in paperback while her dad kind of sulked around the store. It was then that I realized there might be more people out there like her. It made me scared, folks. I was scared for the future.

~ Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

