Ghost Writing – A Single Voice

Previously, I’ve sort of ranted on a little about how I do some ghost writing for another blog, as a part of my job. Now, there are a few ways to do this. There’s the traditional, Brandon Sanderson way, where he wrote the last books of the Wheel of Time Series after Robert Jordan died. The books were in Jordan’s name, of course, but he did his best to write like Robert Jordan would. Then there’s the way that I ghost write with my employer. Think of it as something like how Good Omens was written by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. If you haven’t read it yet, that is a sin to fantasy, comedy, and literature. Go out and get a copy. Yes, right now. I’ll wait.

Back? Alright then. What they did was write the story and edit each others work so heavily that the voices became one. I’ve seen books by multiple authors before, and unless they work as those two did, the different writing styles tend to show.

So how does it work? Well, I’ll get a topic and attempt to explain it in more simple terms. Then my employer reviews it, highlights where certain details should be emphasized, what he thinks can be cut, and I’ll work on structure with him. Then he’ll add in notes, make changes, and send it back to me to revise once more. We’ll do this maybe two or three times for a 500-1000 word post, and then set it loose upon the world, my writing and his knowledge.

There’s not really a huge lesson here other than trying to make sure what you write has one voice, no matter how you write it, or with how many people you write it with.

Honestly, I’m starting to get worried that I’ll run out of stuff to talk about… Five posts a week with a focus on writing might have been a bit of an undertaking… Oh well. That’s part of the fun of this. It keeps me writing – and thinking about it – even when I hit a bit of writer’s block.

Keep writing!

~ Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

