Writer’s Block as an Excuse

I’ve found myself using this more and more lately, and it’s bothering me. I also like to call it the curse of Chapter 7. Chapter 7 holds meaning for me in a lot of things. Okay, that’s a lie. Just reading and writing.

When it comes to reading, around chapter 7 is when I’ll get absorbed into a book. It becomes much harder to put down, and I start pushing to continue reading and finish it.

When it comes to writing, it’s when I feel I’m hitting the meat of the book, and start to back down. Fear becomes procrastination. Sure, I’ll blame writer’s block, but really? It’s just an excuse.

I started a smaller project, something to write fragments of when I can get past that wall of discomfort and need to pick up that pen (keyboard really). In reality though, I want to get back to that other project, and dive head first into that world again. It’s already coming to life with so much history. It hurts to think I’ve been avoiding it. Would I try to avoid picking up a book in a world I love? Not at all! So what’s stopping me? Maybe a confession is all I need to pile on some more guilt to make me push through to clear my conscience. Clearly the encouragement I get (and got) isn’t working anymore.

Try disconnecting the internet. Why are you blogging then? I need some form of writing outlet. Let’s face it. I’m a writer, even if it’s just a chatty blogger with a few excellent followers at times. And, I hate to say it, but the internet is an excellent resource for pulling source material at a moment’s notice. To write, I just need some coffee, some mood music, and no distractions… Hah! Who am I kidding? No distractions? I’d have to move out and cut off all contact before that would happen. So maybe relatively distraction free is appropriate… I digress.

Maybe I should do some world building in the mean time? Get myself back to that world a little at a time. Write a short story instead of a novel. Sacrifice a goat to some pagan gods, or something to get back into the world.

I’m sorry to those of you who wanted information or maybe some tips, but all I can offer is that after a long delay, you need to admit to yourself whether or not writer’s block is just an excuse. Only then can you begin the path back to your work.

If you have any suggestions or ideas, I’m quite happy to hear them.

Keep writing, and no excuses.

~ Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

