How do you find inspiration?

I think it’s a fairly legitimate question. Is there a method to your madness? Do you walk out into a mid-west field and meditate while feeding the prairie dogs? Maybe you just sit there with a guitar playing the craziest riffs you can imagine until one sparks a scene?

I find inspiration everywhere: music, video games, books, TV, movies. Some word or lyric will trigger something in my brain, and suddenly I have a rush of a scene running through it.

The Nine Divines from the Elder Scrolls series became inspiration for the Four Divines in one of my own stories.

Listening to Scars on Broadway, the song 3005 sings about “resurrection junkies”. While it could be seen as a reference to religion, I turned it into an idea for a drug that makes you think you’re communicating with the dead. People who can’t move on and take it tend to become highly addicted, clinging to the fabricated memories of their loved ones.

A style of martial arts and a religion I created were built around the concept of another video game character.

That’s just the tip of the iceberg though. Where do you find inspiration in your writing? Comment and share!

~ Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

One response to “How do you find inspiration?

  • L. Palmer

    I try to expose myself to ideas and concepts when I’m having writers block. Most of the time, I listen to music and create stories, scenes, and characters based on the emotion of a song. All it takes is an attentive mind, taking everything in like a sponge. There’s always a part of my brain that is processing a potential story or scene.

Leave a Reply

