Homeless Characters

It’s not the first time, nor will it be the last. Recently I came up with this amazing character – the start of one anyway – and found them homeless. Not homeless as in the place to live sense, but homeless in that I don’t have a story for them. It almost feels like a waste to give this character so much life, only to tell them to sit in a corner to be forgotten, but what can I do? They don’t belong to a world I know, and I can’t force a story out of them. I’m certainly not giving them to someone else to do with as they please. Unfortunately, it happens sometimes. I still feel bad though.

Maybe, in time, they’ll tell me their story.

Here’s hoping.

~ Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

2 responses to “Homeless Characters

  • Libby

    This has happened to me for years. Sometimes I’d manage a couple, meaningless chapters but they’d always slip away into a dusty corner of my mind, never to see the sunlight again. After I finally found a group of characters with an actual story for me to tell, I began incoporating (recycling, if you will) my ‘homeless’ characters into minor roles in the plot. I don’t know why certain characters alluded me, but a stubborn young woman finally broke through and delivered me a story that is undergoing its second draft.
    Someone will break through someday! Just like relationships, there will always be more fish in the sea. 🙂

    • writingunderdog

      I hope so! I have a couple with a story to tell, I’m just hitting the sludgy middle ground that’s tough to navigate. I figure after I do my usual Thursday stuff, I’ll have to spend the day trying to slog through it once again. Even if it’s crap, I should at least be able to say “The end” once in my writing career.

Leave a Reply

