More NaNoWriMo Prep

World building ahead of time when you don’t know where you want to begin writing can be a nightmare. After all, this is a novel writing session, and most world building can take forever. Unless you are writing  within our world or someplace similar some will need to be done, and even then if it’s a fictional town, and whatnot, it’ll pop up again. Can you afford to just slap something together and hope it works out for the best? Maybe? It’s true that there will be a good amount of that as you try to make the 50k word mark.

In preparation then, I’m putting down details, minute or not, that I’d like to remember. Religions, Cultures, Countries, Cities, People, Guilds/Factions. If any idea strikes me at a given moment, I’m ready to jot it down. It’s necessary to an extent, if only so I have something to draw on.

Now, I know what some of you are thinking. Why not make an outline? Because I try and tend to trip up keeping them together. I find mapping main events to be easy, but the connections in between always catch me, so I just have to write and write. Whether it’s a story at the end or not will remain to be seen.

Underdog’s 3rd Attempt at NaNoWriMo Beginning Checklist (This is a joke… mostly)

   X    Convince yourself you can do this

   X    Start laying out plans for the Novel

   X   Scrap plans

   X   Start taking notes and ideas down instead

___ Forget from October 31st-November 1st

___ Celebrate brother’s birthday on Nov. 1st

___ Panic around 5:00 PM (Nov. 1st) that it’s NaNoWriMo

___ Stare at computer screen and surf internet until about 6:00 PM

___ Start Writing

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

