December and Post NaNoWriMo

November is past, and I’m a bit late on the posting. I would have started again yesterday, but unknowingly narrowing down a mysterious food allergy left me too sick to post for the day!

I think the logical question from here is where do we go? (Or where do I go, I suppose if the rest of you know?)

I did manage to cross the finish line. I have 50,000 words at my disposal in a raw, unedited (Mostly. I have a habit of correcting and ammending thoughts as I write) draft state, but my story is not yet complete. I dare say that it might have another 15-20,000 words to go! Editing will include more detail, and striking unnecessary words, probably raising the word count even still.

For writers, not just participants, it can be fun to read through the pep talks on the site. All of them are done by professional writers, and can be a source of inspiration, especially if you have a favorite author who has contributed. The three that helped me the most were Brandon Sanderson, Neil Gaiman, and Dave Eggers. I say this because I deeply respect these authors, and though I haven’t read any of Dave Eggers’ books (for which I do apologize), his talk on procrastination really hits home.

Furthermore, a recent information leak by a reader at Dragonmount said that he suspects one of the chapters in Sanderson’s new novel, A Memory of Light, is 50,000 words long and contains something like 70+ perspectives. That’s all of NaNo in one chapter. It shows just how much work and effort can go into a single book, and how much time and effort can go into making a single chapter.

But what does this mean to me, or you, aside from something to make you jealous. It means that we still have a long way to go to perfect the craft, but if they can do it, and if Brandon Sanderson can turn the equivalent of NaNoWriMo into a single chapter, then what’s there to stop us? Regardless of how far anyone made it, what matters the most is what you take away from the month long trials and tribulations of working on a novel. I got a writing habit, and inspiration to keep me going when the going gets tough. How about you?

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

