Try looking at it from another point of view

Hey everyone, I’m back-ish. I still don’t know how I had the steam to update almost daily for so many months, but here we have it, I’m posting on a Friday… With luck we’ll see a re-blog Tuesday as I doubt I’ll get to the blog on Monday, but I hope for a post or two per week.

It’s been tough coming up with something to write about. I’ve thought about magic systems, continuing a series I started on world influences, a Character Sketch, and hell I even came in today with the intent to write on criticism, but that’s been set aside. I’m not sure if it’s a lack of inspiration for these topics at the moment, or because I’ve had other things on  my mind, but I decided to talk about something else – perspective.

Most people cover the kinds of perspective, but I’m thinking more about the effects of it.

As an exercise in practice once, I wrote a scene in four different perspectives. My character, Soren was traveling alone with two scouts and a healer, and the events took place at an inn. (It’s only rough draft quality at best, but I might post it up on request.) Not every character started in the same location, or even at the same time, but to see the same things through another character’s eyes can drastically change the way a story is told, like seeing a murder through the eyes of the victim, the killer, or a witness would. My characters grew, the relationships between them felt more real, and it was just fun to do.

One of my favorite examples of perspective actually comes from a video game. Star Ocean: The Second Story (PS1) or Second Evolution (PSP remake). In the beginning, you choose a character, the male or the female lead, and play the game from their perspective. Depending on who you chose, some parts of the story change (when you separate for example, you go with your character, not both). It also changes the characters who join your team, and affects the dynamics of the relationships between your team’s characters. Some events, like the male lead’s attempt to contact home, is drastically different based on the character you pick. From his perspective, we see him trying to escape the path he’s been set on, and determination to make it home, and from her’s, we see sorrow and confusion at what she’s watching.

Perspective can be done with other methods too than just jumping to a new character. In one of my stories I tell the story from one perspective, and insert journal entries from another character in the between chapters some times. We get thoughts from the other character, while I can still keep the first-person perspective I wanted from the story.

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

2 responses to “Try looking at it from another point of view

  • Dreampunk Geek

    Glad to see you are back(ish)! I’m feeling the same way you are about keeping up my regular posts. Lots of things happening in my life that have left little or no time to even think about my blog let alone write up posts. I think I’m back, but I just don’t see how I can keep up 5 posts a week like I was before. I will probably have to reduce to 2 or 3 and see how that goes. Even with that I can see the tone and theme of my blog changing, but I’m just not ready to give it up. Too many wonderful people out there that I’ve been able to connect with that I just don’t want to loose. Anyways, I hope you keep up with your blog. I’ve always enjoyed reading it and kind of feel like there are a lot of parallels between our blogs. We both started around the same time, have some of the same readers, blog about some of the same things, and seem to encounter similar challenges with blogging around the same time. While both completely different and separate, its nice to have someone out there kind of finding their way as I stumble to find mine.

  • Libby

    You’re definitely not alone! I’ve been barely scraping by on my blog: my posts are sporadic, my ideas far and few in between, and I have no idea what direction it’s going in. I’ve decided to just fly by the seat of my pants and blog when the urge takes me –unfortunately that also means I’ve been neglecting reading others’ blogs….
    I always love reading your posts; they make me rethink the fundemental structure and ‘rules’ I’ve been unconsciously writing by. I look forward to whatever posts you publish, however often. 🙂

Leave a Reply

