Expanding your Writing Horizon

While sickness and deadlines don’t make for a good blog revival, they do make for a good build up of wanting to write and get back to this. Once again, I’m confronted with the what though. I admit I haven’t devoted as much time to writing as I’d like lately, but I would like to bring up an interesting topic, and one that might not be seen as normal. Some people read books all of their lives and decide they want to write. Some want to be the next top journalist and travel the world getting the next big scoop. Poets and musicians bring words and rhythm together, and anyone who has worked an office job has written enough letters to want to hang themselves. That might be an exaggeration. Marketers and advertisers write scripts and witty one-liners, while comedians bring jokes to the acting stage shared by screen play/play writers. I admit that when I first began looking for writing jobs, I turned to the risky video game industry, where the quality has gotten poor, budgets high, and I hoped to help bring a diamond out of the dirty coal mine a hobby of mine had become.

Needless to say, I’m not there yet, but the thought does bring up something interesting, that at times I’m embarrassed to admit. One of the best story-telling genres is the role-playing games one. I’m not talking, create your character in Skyrim and bash enemies with scripted quests in a huge open world, but in a way I am. I’m confusing myself here, but I tend to write these posts without much planning, just an idea and a keyboard. I’m talking role-playing in general. No, not in bed, or in Skyrim, but something almost as simple. Table-top, written story, etc. This is actually how I got into writing, if by an accident involving an outdated computer and my gaming habits. (This is that embarrassing thing.) Two of my favorite sites, which I’ll post at the end for anyone wanting to make an attempt at it, had me writing stories with other people. One in a preset world constantly changing to players’ actions, and another where we’d make our own worlds.

The reason I bring this up is because there is little more challenging, than not being able to control all of the responses. You have to get to know your characters really well when another player replies, because say your character flirts with theirs. You expect a return, or a rejection. What if the player decides they pull a knife on you instead? Are you prepared for that? Are any of your characters? Role-playing takes time though, a reason why I like the sites I mentioned, was that it wasn’t table top, and I could spend anywhere from 20 minutes to three hours, depending on my available time and available players, and do it at my own rate.

Thus, I offer the suggestion that everyone should give it a try, and see what it’s like to really get to know a character, and improve your style. For poets, maybe you want a bard to share your verses with the world and kill two birds with one stone? For fiction writers, you can find some like-minded people to help with your own world, just by playing in a similar one. Who am I to ask people to take more time out of their lives though? Just a humble worker with an ego big enough to think he can change the world with words.

Fantasy Role – for anything and everything

Battlemaster – for light fantasy, medieval game-play, a splash of intrigue, and politics in a ready made world. Be an adventurer, a noble, start a guild, work your way up to ruler, or lead the armies of your country. (Warning: This is an actual game.)

Whatever you do, keep writing.

~Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

