Reality as a Tool

I think the past few months have been a real eye opener for me. While I may not be quite as active of a blogger as I was due to real life obligations, I’m still learning, and itching to talk about it. Maybe not itching. I don’t like itching. How about hungry. Hungry’s better. After all, who doesn’t like to eat something? Imagine this as a therapeutic snack or something. Anyway! Before I side track myself further with the realization I ate a doughnut for breakfast and haven’t eaten since…

Desires! That’s what this post is really about! That one thing your character must obtain! Sure we have dreams and passions and goals, but the real need for something is, as I’m discovering, much more of a gut reaction than one of the heart. See, on top of my life, I’m looking for a job so I can stabilize my life. Right now, I’m underpaid, overworked, and barely squeaking past on student loans and gas money with my paychecks. It doesn’t leave much for a whole lot else, and my nerdy habits that let me relieve stress begin to get affected.

See, I don’t just want a new job. I need a new job. Every time I walk into work, I feel it in my gut. The intense dislike of being the office bitch, as I duly call myself to anyone out of a professional setting. My most recent promotion, with no increase in pay, is the boss’ taxi service for whenever he drops his car off to get worked on. I don’t just need a new job. My life depends on me getting a new job. I cannot continue to work in an environment with an “evolving job description” that changes to suit the boss’ needs, but not my own. Thus I’m doing everything in my power to get this new job, regardless of how difficult it is.

I admit that I’m young, but I don’t think I quite understood the drive needed for a protagonist until the last couple of months, and even then I’m sure that I’ve still missed something in it, but it’s a start.

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

