My NaNoWriMo Pep Talk

How long has it been? I’ve been between jobs, in and out of financial trouble, invited to join a band, and recently left a temp job that left me working every day for almost a month, and yet I’m still out here in the ether, writing and being the underdog (even if it hasn’t left much time for either of my blogs).

I hope NaNoWriMo is going well for the participants. I’m taking a short break in today’s writing to shout out to everyone and wish you the best of luck as we wade through week two. I’m not much of a pep talker, but I’ll say this. If you can take the time to read this, you can take the time to write. (Hell, I should take my own advice here.)

I know that there’s always something going on, and there’s never enough time to do it, so I just want you all to know that outside of NaNo, I do most of my writing between Midnight and 2:30 AM, even if I have to get up at 6:30 the next day. Make the most of your time, and when in doubt sit down and play some Donkey Kong. Writing is like Donkey Kong. You are the villain, throwing barrels into your hero’s path to his goal. Be like the great Kong, and withhold your hero’s desire until he/she has truly earned it.

~Underdog

About writing underdog

I'm an aspiring writer of fantasy and science fiction. I graduated from a university with a degree in Writing and a minor in Philosophy. I try to learn a little about everything. I hope to update regularly, meaning at least once per week. View all posts by writing underdog

Leave a Reply

